Related Advisory Committees
Related Advisory Committees

Legislative Council Panel on Health Services
2017 Policy Address
Policy Initiatives of the Food and Health Bureau

New Initiatives

(d) Chinese Medicine

16. The Government has all along been committed to promoting the development of Chinese medicine in Hong Kong. The Chief Executive established the Chinese Medicine Development Committee (“CMDC”) in February 2013 to focus on the study of four major areas, namely the development of Chinese medicine services, personnel training and professional development, research and development as well as development of the Chinese medicines industry (including Chinese medicines testing). The Government has accepted a number of recommendations put forth by the CMDC, including the development of Chinese medicine hospital (“CMH”), development of the integrated Chinese-Western medicine (“ICWM”), the expansion of the Hong Kong Chinese Materia Medica Standards (“HKCMMS”) Project as well as the setting up of the Government Chinese Medicines Testing Institute. We have been implementing these recommendations in phases.

17. For the development of CMH, the Chief Executive announced in the 2014 Policy Address that the Government had reserved a site in Tseung Kwan O to set up a CMH in Hong Kong. The Government then studied the feasible mode of operation of the CMH in consultation with the CMDC. Since the development of a CMH requires detailed and thorough study and planning, as agreed by the CMDC, the HA launched the ICWM Pilot Project in September 2014 to gather experience in the operation of ICWM and Chinese medicine in-patient services, which will serve as the basis for formulating the mode of operation of a CMH. We will provide funding for the HA to continue to implement and expand the ICWM Pilot Project.

18. As for the development of CMH, we conducted an exercise in January to May 2016 to invite non-binding Express of Interest from non-profit-making organisations interested in developing and operating a CMH on a self-financing basis which would provide ICWM services with Chinese medicine having the predominant role. Apart from providing in-patient and out-patient services to the public, the CMH should also support the teaching, clinical training and scientific research of the higher education institutions in Hong Kong, including the Schools of Chinese medicine under the three universities in Hong Kong, and help strengthen and enhance the quality of the professional training of Chinese medicine practitioners and the scientific research of Chinese medicine in Hong Kong. Feedbacks received from the non-binding EOI exercise indicated that it would be difficult, if not impossible, for non-profit-making organisations to develop the CMH on their own. In this regard, the Chief Executive announced in the 2017 Policy Address the Government’s decision to finance the construction of the CMH and invite HA to assist in identifying by way of tender a suitable non-profit-making organisation to take forward and operate the CMH.

19. On the development of Chinese medicines, the Government has accepted the CMDC’s recommendation which supports the continuation of the HKCMMS Project to study and formulate reference standards for more Chinese herbal medicines; and the consideration of including study on the reference standard for Chinese medicines decoction pieces under the HKCMMS Project, so that HKCMMS can be more widely adopted. Thus far, the HKCMMS Project has completed the compilation of HKCMMS for some 230 Chinese materia medica commonly used in Hong Kong. Our target is to set reference standards for around 28 Chinese materia medica each year. A pilot study has also been launched on the reference standard for Chinese medicines decoction pieces under the HKCMMS Project.

20. The Government is also actively planning on the establishment of the Government Chinese Medicines Testing Institute to be managed by the DH. By employing state-of-the-art technology and through scientific research, a set of internationally-recognised reference standards for Chinese medicines and related products will be developed. The institute will help empower the industry through transfer of technology to strengthen quality control of their products, establish the brand image of Hong Kong in Chinese medicines, and develop Hong Kong into an international hub for scientific research on Chinese medicines testing and quality control. Before the establishment of the permanent Government Chinese Medicines Testing Institute, a temporary one, to be set up at the Science Park, will come into operation in phases starting from the first quarter of this year. The temporary institute will kick start some of the work as soon as possible, including the further development of reference standards for Chinese materia medica and decoction pieces, commencing researches on high-end biological and chemical technologies applicable to Chinese medicines and related products, and preparing for the establishment of a digitalised herbarium on Chinese medicines of international standard.

21. To promote the development of Chinese medical professionals and Chinese medicines, the Government has requested the HA to review the salary level of the Chinese medicine practitioners employed at the Chinese Medicine Centres for Training and Research.

On-going initiatives

(d) Chinese Medicine

50. We will continue to conduct review of the development of Chinese medical professionals and Chinese medicines through the CMDC to formulate strategies to raise the professional standard and status of Chinese medicine practitioners, support research and development of Chinese medicine, promote treatment with ICWM, expand the role of Chinese medicine in the Hong Kong healthcare system, and examine the feasible mode of operation of the CMH.

51. We will continue to subsidise and monitor the 18 Chinese Medicine Centres for Training and Research to enhance Chinese medicine service in our public healthcare system.

(Full document)



Back Top

2017Copyright| Important notices | Privacy Policy

Last revision date:20/01/2017

有關的諮詢委員會
有關的諮詢委員會

立法會衞生事務委員會

2017年施政報告

食物及衞生局的政策措施

(有關發展中醫中藥的節錄)


新措施

(d) 中醫中藥

16. 政府一直致力促進中醫藥在香港的發展,行政長官已於2013年2月成立中醫中藥發展委員會,集中探討中醫藥的四大範疇,分別為中醫服務發展、人才培訓及專業發展、科研發展及產業發展(包括中藥檢測)。政府已接納中醫中藥發展委員會多項的建議,包括發展中醫醫院、中西醫協作發展、擴展《香港中藥材標準》( “《港標》”) 計劃,以及成立政府中藥檢測中心。我們已逐步推行各項建議。

17. 行政長官在《2014年施政報告》中宣布,政府已預留一幅在將軍澳的土地用作發展中醫醫院。期後,政府與中醫中藥發展委員會共同研究中醫醫院可行的營運模式。鑑於發展中醫醫院需要詳細及深入的研究與計劃,經中醫中藥發展委員會的同意下,醫管局於2014年9月開始推行中西醫協作先導計劃(“先導計劃”),以汲取在中西醫協作、中醫住院服務營運方面的經驗,並以此作為日後中醫醫院營運模式的基礎。政府將提供資金予醫管局繼續執行及擴展先導計劃。

18. 在發展中醫醫院方面,政府已於2016年1月至5月邀請有興趣以自負盈虧形式承辦興建及營運中醫醫院,於中醫醫院內提供以中醫為主的中西醫協作住院服務的非牟利團體,提交無約束力的意向書(“意向書”)。除了為公眾提供中醫住院及門診服務,中醫醫院亦會支援本地高等教育院校,包括三間大學的中醫藥學院作教學、臨床培訓及科研用途,並協助加強及提升香港中醫專業培訓及中醫藥科研的質素。從無約束力的意向書收到的意見中顯示,非牟利團體難以,甚至不能自資發展中醫醫院。有見及此,行政長官於《2017年施政報告》中宣布,政府決定出資興建中醫醫院,並邀請醫管局提供協助,以投標方式挑選合適的非牟利團體負責推展和營運中醫醫院。

19. 在中藥發展方面,政府接納中醫中藥發展委員會建議,繼續進行《港標》計劃,研究及制定更多中藥材參考標準;及探討在《港標》計劃中展開中藥飲片參考標準的研究,以推廣《港標》的應用。直至目前為止,《港標》已完成制定約230種香港常用中藥材的參考標準。我們的目標是每年制定約28種中藥材的參考標準。中藥飲片參考標準的先導性研究亦已在《港標》計劃下開展。

20. 政府亦正積極籌劃成立由衞生署管理的政府中藥檢測中心,利用先進的科技並通過科研,研發一套國際認可的中藥與相關產品的參考標準。政府中藥檢測中心會透過技術轉移加強中藥業界對其產品品質控制的能力,藉此建立香港中藥品牌形象,及將香港發展成為中藥檢測和品質控制的國際科研中心。在興建永久的政府中藥檢測中心之前,我們會在科學園設立臨時中心,並於今年第一季起分階段運作。臨時中心會盡快開展部分工作,包括繼續建立中藥材及飲片的參考標準、開展應用於中藥及相關產品的高端生物及化學技術研究,以及籌備建立世界級水平的數碼化中藥標本館。

21. 為鼓勵中醫藥發展,政府已要求醫管局檢視受聘於中醫教研中心的中醫師的薪酬水平。

持續推行的措施

(d) 中醫中藥

50. 透過中醫中藥發展委員會,我們會繼續檢討中醫藥業發展,並制訂策略以提升中醫師專業水平及地位、支持中醫藥研發、促進中西醫協作治療、擴大中醫中藥在香港醫療系統的角色, 以及研究中醫醫院的可行營運模式。

51. 我們會繼續資助和監察18間中醫教研中心,加強公共醫療系統內的中醫服務。

(文件全文)



上頁 頁首

2017Copyright| 重要告示 | 私隱政策

修訂日期 : 20/01/2017