A A A 

Press Releases

SFH on Hospital Authority Review Steering Committee (with photos)

Following is the transcript of remarks made by the Secretary for Food and Health, Dr Ko Wing-man, after inspecting the medical services of United Christian Hospital this afternoon (August 21):

Secretary for Food and Health: In the 2013 Policy Address, the Chief Executive committed to conduct a review of the operation of the Hospital Authority (HA). Earlier today, the Government announced the setting up of a Steering Committee to carry out an overall review of HA. The objective of this review is to ensure that HA can meet up to the challenge of ageing population as well as the changing public needs for health-care services. The review will cover HA's management and cluster arrangement, resource allocation, service levels and its overall cost-effectiveness. I will be the chairperson of the Steering Committee, which comprises 13 non-official members, other official members and representatives from HA. The non-official members come from different sectors of the community including health-care professionals, academics and representatives from business, welfare sectors, patient advocates and front-line staff of HA. I believe with their experience in public services and management and health-care services, (members of) the Steering Committee would provide constructive views and recommendations to help the Government and HA further improve and strengthen HA's management, transparency and service quality. (The full membership list of the Steering Committee is in the Annex.)

Reporter: (On the review.)

Secretary for Food and Health: Through various channels of feedback, we have repeatedly received opinion that the cluster operation and the arrangement within HA is certainly an area which should be looked at by the Steering Committee.


Membership list of Hospital Authority Review Steering Committee

Secretary for Food and Health

Non-official Members:
Professor Alfred Chan Cheung-ming
Professor Andrew Chan Chi-fai
Ms Chan Lai-hung
Mr Lam Woon-kwong
Dr Lau Ka-hin
Ms Connie Lau Yin-hing
Professor Lo Chung-mau
Dr Kim Mak Kin-wah
Mr Tim Pang Hung-cheong
Professor Joseph Sung Jao-yiu
Ms Deborah Wan Lai-yau
Mr Jason Yeung Chi-wai
Dr Andrew Yip Wai-chun

Official Members:
Permanent Secretary for Food and Health (Health)
Director of Health
Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (or representative)
Secretary for Labour and Welfare (or representative)

Hospital Authority:
Chairman, Hospital Authority
Chief Executive, Hospital Authority

(Please also refer to the Chinese portion of the transcript.)

Ends/Wednesday, August 21, 2013
Issued at HKT 19:36


Photo1   Photo2